Forums / Allocatus Forum (English) / What does the AbsenceSafetySwitch do

What does the AbsenceSafetySwitch do

2 posts, 1 answered
  1. user
    user avatar
    215 posts
    Registered:
    09 Aug 2015
    11 Aug 2015
    Link to this post

    The SyncLog (on the server) refers to the AbsenceSafetySwitch > Absence task has been created in Project Server. Since AbsenceSafetySwitchEnabled is enabled this change will be ignored What does this switch do and what might be the impact by setting it to FALSE.

    regards

    Last modified on 18 May 2016 19:05 by aniko.erlinger
  2. admin
    admin avatar
    198 posts
    Registered:
    09 Aug 2015
    Answered
    11 Aug 2015 in reply to user
    Link to this post

    Allocatus Server supports both top-down as well as bottom-up planning. Bottom-up planning is typically used for Absence Management. In this use case you can link existing appointments or events in Outlook with Absence tasks from MS Project. Since in the bottom-up planning scenario the owner of the calendar is the person that is driving the planning Allocatus Server with Absence Safety Switch enabled takes care that no one else can change these entries in Outlook.

    The most commons scenarios are that a project manager assigns work to an absence task (1), changes the work (2) or deletes the work (3). This will result in the following message logged in the Allocatus diagnostic log:

    1. Work for absence task 'task name' has been created in Project Server. Since AbsenceSafetySwitchEnabled is enabled this change will be discarded.
    2. Start or finish of work for absence task 'task name' has changed in Project Server. Since AbsenceSafetySwitchEnabled is enabled this change will be discarded.
    3. Work for absence task 'task name' has been deleted in Project Server. Since AbsenceSafetySwitchEnabled is enabled this change will be discarded.

    A special scenario is that the Project Manager sets the Publish property to False or deletes the Absence task in Microsoft Project. In this case by default all linked calendar entries would be deleted. The option AbsenceSafetySwitchEnabled how ever prevents this. The sync for the user is not interrupted, only the affected deletion/change is ignored. If you set AbsenceSafetySwitchEnabled to false all affected Outlook entries as logged in the Allocatus Log will be changed/deleted from Outlook.

    Last modified on 18 May 2016 19:05 by aniko.erlinger
2 posts, 1 answered

Search Forum Posts